CBIC names scholarship recipients, Educator of the Year nominees

By  | 

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (CBS19 NEWS) -- The Charlottesville Business Innovation Council has announced two scholarship recipients and three nominees to its Educator of the Year for 2019.

CBIC is giving two $2,500 scholarship to two junior or senior high school students who intend to pursue education beyond high school in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math and who have attended at least one CBIC Tech Tour.

This year's recipients are Henry Pritchard, a junior at William Monroe High School, and Alexander Armstrong, a home-schooled senior who is dual-enrolled at Blue Ridge Community College.

Pritchard says he wants to study electrical engineering and computer science at the University of Virginia, MIT, Brown University or Virginia Tech, after which he wants to found a startup technology company.

Armstrong wants to study Mechanical Engineering at Blue Ridge Community College and Virginia Tech, after which he plans to work with a local company in the engineering field while also studying for a Master's degree.

And the CBIC also recognizes one K-12 educator each year who has set an example incorporating the principles of innovation, entrepreneurship, invention and/or technological achievement in the classroom.

This year's nominees are Anna Greene from Western Albemarle High School, Chris Bunin from Albemarle High School, and Sarah FitzHenry from St. Annes'-Belfield.

The scholarship recipients and the Educator of the Year will be honored as part of the upcoming CBIC Gala on May 23.

For more information, click on the link in the Related Links box.

The comments sections of CBS19News.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. CBS19News.com tracks IP addresses. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments.
View Comment Guidelines
powered by Disqus