Council to choose mayor

CHARLOTTESVILLE,Va. (CBS19 NEWS) -- The Charlottesville City Council will select a new mayor on Tuesday.

The new mayor must be one of the five sitting councilors. On Jan. 1, that will be current Mayor Mike Signer, Vice Mayor Wes Bellamy, Kathy Galvin, Nikuyah Walker and Heather Hill.

CBS19 asked Charlottesville residents who they'd like to see in the role. Many people we asked said they didn't know who the council members are, while others had opinions they didn't want to share.

Those who did express a preference had different picks.

"I would prefer to keep the same mayor, Mike Signer, because I think the unusual circumstances that occurred in August set everyone back in so many different ways," said Jamie Endahl. "I think we should move forward and give everyone a chance."

Gray Fore disagreed, and said the newly elected independent candidate, Nikuyah Walker, should be chosen.

"Based on her campaign and the amount of support she got when being elected, I'd say that most of Charlottesville, as well as myself, would see her as the best pick," said Fore.

The mayor serves for two years.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. tracks IP addresses. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments.
View Comment Guidelines
powered by Disqus