Hunter, Bennett highlight All-ACC 'Hoos

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (CBS19 SPORTS) -- For the fourth time in program history, a Virginia men's basketball player has been named ACC Defensive Player of the Year. And for the fourth time in his UVA tenure, Tony Bennett is the league's coach of the year.

Redshirt sophomore De'Andre Hunter was the latest Wahoo to earn the league's top defensive honor on Monday, while Bennett was named the top coach the second straight season. Hunter and junior guard Kyle Guy were both named first-team All-ACC, while junior guard Ty Jerome was named to the second team. Hunter also earned all-defensive team honors.

Duke freshman forward Zion Williamson was named both player of the year and rookie of the year. Williamson was averaging 21.6 points, 8.8 rebounds and 1.85 blocks per game before a February 20 knee injury ended his regular season prematurely. Fellow Duke freshman RJ Barrett and North Carolina senior Cam Johnson joined Williamson, Hunter and Guy on the All-ACC first team.

UVA finished the regular season 28-2 overall, and shared the conference's regular season title with North Carolina at 16-2. Thanks to their win in Chapel Hill during the teams' lone regular-season meeting, the Cavaliers will be the top seed in this week's ACC Tournament.

Hunter was second on the Wahoos in both scoring (15.2 ppg) and rebounding (5.2 rpg) during the regular season. He finished third in the ACC in field goal percentage (53.3 percent). Hunter also logged 15 blocks and 19 steals.

Guy led the Wahoos in scoring at 15.3 points per game. His 3.2 3-pointers-per-game average is best in the ACC, while his 3-point percentage (45.1 percent) is third in the league and his field goal percentage (46.3) percent ranks 10th.

Jerome is third on the Wahoos in scoring at 13.5 points per game. His 154 total assists 5.3 per-game average both lead the ACC, while his 3.2 assist-to-turnover ratio is second in the league. Jerome shot 45.2 percent from the floor and 42.6 percent from beyond the 3-point line during the regular season, and his 42 steals led UVA.

This is the third time in program history at that UVA put multiple players on the All-ACC first team. Ralph Sampson and Jeff Lamp both earned the honor in 1981, while Sampson and Othell Wilson were both first-team picks the following season.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. tracks IP addresses. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments.
View Comment Guidelines
powered by Disqus