Hunter named national defensive player of year

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (CBS19 SPORTS) -- For the third time in five years, the NABC national defensive player of the year calls UVA home. De'Andre Hunter was given the award Tuesday.

Hunter joins Darion Atkins in 2015 and Malcolm Brogdon in 2016 as Wahoos to win the award.

Hunter is second in scoring -- 14.9 points per game -- and rebounding -- 5.0 rebounds per game -- for the Final Four bound Cavaliers.

The redshirt sophomore and teammate Kyle Guy wer also named AP third-team All-American Tuesday. Ty Jerome was an honorable mention All-American.

Hunter will receive his award Sunday at the NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show in Minneapolis.