UVA tops Notre Dame, wins first ACC Championship since 2010

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (CBS19 SPORTS) -- Virginia dominates Notre Dame in 10-4 victory to capture their 7th ACC Tournament Title and first since 2010.

The Wahoos started quick with back-to-back unassisted goals from Matt Moore and Dox Aitken to go up 2-0. The Irish fought back to tie the game at 2-2 at the end of the first quarter. A transition goal from Ian Laviano, assisted by Michael Kraus, put the Cavaliers up 3-2 and started an 8-0 run.

The Virginia defense stopped the Notre Dame attackers from scoring for nearly 42 minutes straight in the game, starting round the four minute mark in the first quarter. The Wahoos caused 16 of the 23 Irish turnovers and held a 35-28 ground ball advantage.

Aitken lead Virginia with a hat trick, while ACC Tournament MVP Ryan Conrad had two goals. Joining Conrad on the All-ACC Tournament team were Aitken, Moore and Jared Conners.

The Cavaliers avenged last year's ACC Title loss to Notre Dame and now have 18 ACC titles in program history. Now Virginia will wait to hear their NCAA Tournament fate on Sunday at 9 p.m.

The comments sections of CBS19News.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. CBS19News.com tracks IP addresses. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments.
View Comment Guidelines
powered by Disqus