RICHMOND, Va. (CBS19 NEWS) -- The members of a new commission that will aim to address human trafficking in Virginia have been announced.

Governor Glenn Youngkin announced the creation of the Commission on Human Trafficking Prevention and Survivor Support on his first day in office.

“This commission is proof that Virginia is committed to ending human trafficking,” said Youngkin. “The conviction of human traffickers, empowerment of survivors, and prevention of others from becoming victims are top public safety priorities for the Commonwealth. That is why I signed the executive order for this commission on my first day in office. We must remain vigilant to ensure that those who work tirelessly to combat human trafficking and help survivors are equipped with the tools necessary to win this fight.”

According to a release, the commission will be responsible for coordinating with the Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of Education, the Secretary of Labor, the Office of the Attorney General, the State Trafficking Response Coordinator, and any other federal, state, local or private sector entities that aim to increase law enforcement awareness, empower and support survivors, and enhance trafficking prevention education.

Below is a list of the members of the new commission:

  • Mike Lamonea, Chair, of Chesapeake, Director at Juniper Networks and Retired DHS/Homeland Security Investigations Special Agent
  • Michael J. Brown of Lynchburg, Virginia, Sheriff (Retired), Bedford County Sheriff's Office
  • Brittany Dunn of Alexandria, COO & Co-Founder, Safe House Project
  • Sarah-Beth Evans of Norfolk
  • Keith Farmer of Roanoke Valley, Director, Straight Street
  • Michael Y. Feinmel of Henrico, Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney, Henrico County
  • Pamela Hock, M.S. of Richmond, Educator, Advocate, Survivor
  • Tyller Holden of Virginia Beach, Junior Board of Directors, EnJewel
  • Michael Miller of Bedford, Sheriff, Bedford County
  • Deepa Patel of Springfield, Virginia, Co-Founder and Clinician, Trauma and Hope
  • Mea Picone of Richmond
  • Susan Young of Fairfax, Executive Director and Founder, Parent Coalition To End Human Trafficking

There will also be these ex-officio members:

  • Secretary Robert “Bob” Mosier, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security 
  • Secretary Aimee Guidera, Secretary of Education
  • Secretary Bryan Slater, Secretary of Labor
  • Angella Alvernaz, State Trafficking Response Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services
  • Major Caren Sterling, Deputy Director of the Bureau of Criminal Investigations, Lead of VSP Human Trafficking Unit, Virginia State Police
  • Tanya Gould, Director, Anti-Human Trafficking Office of Attorney General