ALBEMARLE COUNTY, Va. (CBS19 NEWS) -- A long-time member of the Virginia House of Delegates has announced he is retiring.

On Saturday, Delegate Rob Bell announced he would not be seeking re-election as the 2023 General Assembly regular session came to an end.

“It has been the honor of a lifetime to serve in the House of Delegates. I want to thank the voters who allowed me to represent them in Richmond for the last 22 years,” said Bell. “Once the elections were over, they shared their ideas with me and came to the Capitol to testify for the bills we came up with. With their advocacy and hard work, we've been able to pass laws on issues like domestic violence, drunk driving and bullying in schools. These successes would not have been possible without them.”

Bell, a former Orange County prosecutor, was first elected to the General Assembly in 2001.

According to a release, he has been instrumental in working to crack down on repeat-offense drunk driving cases, expanding protective orders, helping crime victims recover restitution and more.

He has also worked on legislation to improve mental health care in high schools and jails.

Bell represents the 58th District in the House, which includes all of Greene County and parts of Albemarle, Fluvanna and Rockingham counties.

Under the legislative maps that were redrawn in 2022, Greene County is now in the 62nd District, Albemarle County is split between the 54th and 55th Districts, Fluvanna County is in the 56th District, and Rockingham County is split between the 33rd, 34th and 35th Districts.

There are two Democrats seeking the nomination to represent the redrawn 55th District, Amy Laufer and Kellen Squire.

In the 54th District, there are four Democrats seeking the nomination, David Norris, Bellamy Brown, Katrina Callsen and Dashad Cooper. A fifth candidate, David Brown, dropped out on Feb. 22.

In the 56th District, two Republicans are seeking the nomination, Kevin Bailey and Thomas Garrett.

Ballotpedia does not currently list any candidates for the 33rd, 34th, 35th, or 62nd districts.