RICHMOND, Va. (CBS19 NEWS) -- People will be picking their nominees for seats in the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives soon.

The primary election is coming up on June 18, but that also means early voting starts this Friday.

Voters will be able to go to their local registrar’s office to cast a ballot early in person.

Voting will take place during regular business hours on weekdays, and on the final two Saturdays before the primary, which are June 8 and 15.

The last day to register to vote in the primary is May 28. After that date, people can use the Same Day Registration option if they are eligible but they will have to cast a provisional ballot.

People who want to vote by mail need to submit an application for a ballot by May 28 as well.

Voters who select this option can then return their completed ballot in the mail or use an appropriate dropbox near their registrar’s office.

For Senate, incumbent Senator Tim Kaine is running unopposed, so there is no primary for the Democrats.

There are several Republicans running: Hung Cao of Purcellville, Edward C. Garcia, Jr. of Arlington, Jonathan W. Emord of Williamsburg, C.L. Smith, Jr. of Virginia Beach, and Scott Thomas Parkinson of Arlington.

For the two House districts represented by this area, there are primaries for both parties.

The Fifth District is currently represented by Republican Bob Good, who is running for re-election. He is being challenged by state Senator John McGuire III, who was elected to his current post this past November.

There are also three Democrats running: Gloria Tinsley Witt of Lynchburg, Paul A. Riley of Crozet, and Gary L. Terry of Danville.

The Seventh District is currently represented by Democrat Abigail Spanberger, but she is not seeking re-election to that seat. Instead, she is running to be the next governor of Virginia.

There are seven Democrats vying for the seat: Eugene S. Vindman of Dumfries, Briana D. Sewell of Woodbridge, Elizabeth R. Guzman of Woodbridge, Carl B. Bedell of Arlington, Cliff D. Heinzer of Stafford, Margaret Angela Franklin of Woodbridge, and Andrea O. Bailey of Dumfries.

On the Republican side, there are six candidates: Jon P. Myers of Stafford, Derrick M. Anderson of Fredericksburg, Cameron D. Hamilton of Orange, John Prabhudoss of Henrico, Maria E. Martin of Dumfries, and Terris E. Todd of Woodbridge.

There are no primaries for local races on the June ballot.

On June 18, all polling precincts will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. As long as a voter is in line by 7 p.m., they will be allowed to cast a ballot.

For more information on registering or updating a registration, who is on the ballot, and voting locations, click here.