WASHINGTON (CBS19 NEWS) -- An employee with a local public school division has been recognized by a national organization.

On Wednesday, No Kid Hungry announced its 10 national Summer Hunger Heroes. Among them is Randy Herman, the school nutrition director for Louisa County Public Schools.

According to a release says Herman has long been a partner with No Kid Hungry Virginia.

Under her leadership, Louisa County has nearly quadrupled the size of its summer meals operation over the last few years.

In 2019, 8,000 meals were served, and in 2023, there were 30,000 meals served to children in need.

Each of the Summer Hunger Heroes has shown an outstanding commitment to summer hunger relief through their work expanding summer meals programming in rural communities, the release says.

Across the country, summer is one of the hungriest times of the year for children because regular meal programs at schools they may rely on do not take place.

In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, programs have had to change to accommodate more flexible options, and many of those options are becoming permanent, allowing parents to pick up multi-day meal distribution packages or even get meals delivered.

This summer is also the first time the Summer EBT program running, offering $120 in grocery benefits for each eligible child.

“These summer programs offer nutrition for kids and real economic relief for families, and they’re only possible because of people who have committed their careers to this work,” said Eleni Towns, director, No Kid Hungry State Campaigns. “They’re the real heroes, doing the work, day after day, of ending hunger by connecting kids to food, whether it be delivering summer meals to their rural community or ensuring Summer EBT is available for kids in their state. They’re the face of No Kid Hungry.”

The other Summer Hunger Heroes are Jody Buckle from Arizona, Amanda West from Arkansas, Melissa Hill from Florida, Cathy Gallagher from Kentucky, Donna Riviello from New York, Justine Roberts from South Carolina, Constance Moore from Tennessee, Eric Savaiano from Nebraska, and Anna Fiala and Whitney Peters from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.